Spaghetti Night

Spaghetti is easy to make and often considered a meal that any one can cook. This spaghetti dinner is a  little different in that everything is made from scratch, and no, it didn’t take forever to prepare. Just like going to store and picking up ingredients is easy, I can just go shopping in my pantry for all the components.

The Tomato Sauce: I made this last July. Its a think tomato sauce made from farmer’s markets seconds with lots of basil, herbs, and a touch of lemon juice. I canned a bunch of pint jars of the sauce, and use herbs dried from my garden last summer to doctor up each batch when heating it.

The Pasta: I made this batch of pasta probably three weeks ago. A batch of fresh pasta takes about an hour  with my kitchen aid mixer and attachment, and 30 minutes of that is the dough resting. I freeze the fresh pasta and usually get 4 to 5 dinners out of a patch for my boyfriend and I.

The Bread: I cheated with this one. I was recently gifted an awesome bread maker, and I use that to make a loaf every week. Its nice compared to when I would make batches by hand and then have to freeze half the loaves so they didn’t go bad. Now I have fresh, never frozen, bread whenever I want. Spaghetti Dinner

RECIPE: Spaghetti Dinner
Makes 2 Servings

SUPPLIES NEEDED:
Pan
Pot
Spatula
Cutting Board
KnifeIMG_0644
Glass Dish
Oven heated to 350

INGREDIENTS:
4 oz frozen spaghetti
Pint Tomato Sauce
Garlic Cloves
5 Carrots
Canned Hot Pepper Juice
Black Pepper
Basil
Parsley
Sliced Bread
Butter
Parmesan Cheese

DIRECTIONS:
1)
Begin heating sauce on low on the stove (stirring) and a pot of water on medium high.
2) Chop garlic cloves and carrots. Put half the garlic cloves into the tomato sauce and the other to the side to be mixed with butter.
3) Toss chopped carrots in the glass dish with hot pepper juice or any favorite spices/liquids. I think roasting takes a while if you are cooking after work. My work around is to nuke the veggies for two minutes before throwing them in the oven. This softens the carrots just enough that I can roast them faster.  IMG_0647
4) Add Basil, Parsley, and Black Pepper to the tomato sauce to doctor it up a bit.
5) Spread mixture of butter and garlic onto the bread, and toss it in the oven next to the carrots. I put mine straight on a pizza stone, but a tray works well too.
6) Toss pasta into hot water. The homemade pasta usually only takes 4-5 minutes to cook, so make sure to time it off your veggies and bread.

7) 
I think there are two ways to serve the spaghetti. The prettier way is to put the pasta on the plate and top it with sauce, the other way is to dump the noodles directly into the sauce, stir, and then plate. I have demonstrated both below.  Sprinkle with cheese, and plate with a sprig of fresh parsley if you are feeling fancy.

IMG_0648

Leave a Reply

