Strawberry and Poppy Seed Salad

I try to eat relatively healthy. You may be questioning that statement based on the number of desserts I post, but never the less. I came home for lunch today from work, and decided to make a bright spring salad for lunch. Because salad is not often consumed in this household, we don’t keep a stash of dressings in the fridge. I love poppy seed dressing, but most recipes are sweet and with strawberries on the salad, it can become an overload of sweetness. This is my variation on poppy seed dressing, and you will like it if you want something a little more tart.

 

RECIPE: Strawberry and Poppy Seed Salad
Makes 1 Lunch Serving or 2 Side Servings

SUPPLIES NEEDED:
Cutting Board
KnifeIMG_0807
Bowl
Measuring Spoon

INGREDIENTS:
4-5 Large Strawberries
1 Medium Carrot
Walnuts
2 Cups Lettuce
1 T  Mayo
1/2 T Apple Cider Vinegar
1/4 teaspoon Mustard Powder
1 teaspoon Poppy Seeds

DIRECTIONS:
IMG_08091) Chop the fruits, veggies, and nuts to your preferred size. I like my strawberries in slices, my carrots in coins, and my walnuts in little pieces.
2) Arrange the lettuce on a large dinner plate. Top with carrots, strawberries, and walnuts. IMG_0811
3) In a bowl, mix together mayo, apple cider vinegar, mustard powder, and poppy seeds. A good cheat is to use the measuring spoon to do the mixing. It minimizes the amount of dishes.
4) Drizzle the dressing over the salad.

 

IMG_0814

The end result is a rather pretty salad. If I added blueberries, it would have been perfect for memorial day or fourth of July with the red, white, and blue. This recipe is scale-able for larger events and would be a nice thing to bring for potlucks!

While I enjoyed my salad, as per usual an hour later I was hungry again. Leftover mashed potatoes with cheddar cheese and Worcester sauce really hit the spot.

 

Leave a Reply

