Rice Pudding

On Friday, I found four more pyrex dishes to add to my collection at an estate sale. That means it is pudding time. In the next few months, I will share my secret recipe for chocolate pudding an butterscotch. Today is feeling more like a rice pudding day.

I have to say that I like rice. Rice porridge, fried rice, sticky rice, rice cereal (baby not puffed), Tex-Mex rice, rice and beans, and rice pudding, I will eat it all. You can only imagine the weird looks I got in college when friends would walk into my room and see me eating plain rice with chopsticks on my bed. Therefore, I have a couple variations of rice pudding that I enjoy making, but I will start you off with my simplest recipe.

Be warned, this version is not very sweet. If you like a sweet rice pudding feel free to add more sugar or honey or your preferred sweetener. As is, I enjoy this pudding for breakfast or for dessert.

RECIPE: Rice Pudding
Makes 6 Servings 

SUPPLIES NEEDED:IMG_0867
Pan
Lid
Spatula
Measuring cups and Spoons
Oven
6 Pyrex Dishes

INGREDIENTS:
1 1/2 Cups Rice
2-3 Cups 1% milk
2 Eggs
2 T Brown Sugar
3-4 T Raisins
Cinnamon
Nutmeg (Freshly grated)

DIRECTIONS:
1) Heat a cast iron pan on medium high.
2) Add rice to the hot cast iron and let is slightly toast/brown while stirring for a few minutes.
3) Turn down heat to low and pour in milk. Cover and still occasionally until rice is completely cooked. Add more milk if needed.
4) Crack in two eggs and stir until thoroughly mixed.
5) Stir in brown sugar, raisins, cinnamon, and nutmeg.
6) Pour mixture into Pyrex dishes and put in the oven set to heat to 350.
7) Bake in heating oven for 15 minutes until top starts to brown lately.
8) Serve warm or cover and chill.

IMG_0875

Louis can’t wait for them to come out of the oven.

2 thoughts on “Rice Pudding

Leave a Reply

