Dill Buttermilk Bread

Have I mentioned how much I love my bread maker? If I haven’t, let me say it now. I love my bread maker. While I enjoy making bread by hand, it is so nice to throw all the ingredients together and then focus on the other fifty things going on in the kitchen. For the holidays, I wanted to make a nice loaf of bread to go with sandwiches and dips. Plus, it feels healthier to snack on a slice of bread than half a dozen cookies. I know neither is a great idea, but its all relative this time of year.

Dill Buttermilk Bread  
Makes 1 loaf

SUPPLIES NEEDED:dscf0163
Bread maker
Measuring Cups and Spoons
Pot Holder
Storage Container/Bag

INGREDIENTS:
1/2 Cup Water
1 Egg
1 Cup Buttermilk
2 T Sugar
1 1/2 T Butter
4 Cups All Purpose Flour
3 t Dill
2 t Salt
2 1/2 t Yeast

dscf0164DIRECTIONS:
1)
 Add ingredients in order listed above to the pan of the bread maker.
*Note, if you are out of butter milk like me, then simply add a tablespoon of lemon juice to the cup of milk and let sit for a couple minutes before adding to the recipe.
2) Set to medium crust, regular or white bread setting.
3) Wait three or so hours for the bread maker to beep at you that your loaf is ready. You will know this time is approaching based on the delicious smell of fresh bread wafting through your kitchen.
4) Remove from the bread maker pan using the pot holders. When cool, store the loaf in a bag or air tight container.

 

dscf0193

We love dill, so this bread was just perfect! It goes well in sandwiches, covered in spinach dip, or with just a bit of butter.

2 thoughts on “Dill Buttermilk Bread

  1. Dill is one my favorites! I would love this bread with a soup and salad. Can I make it by hand with the same proportions? I don’t own a bread maker.

    Like

Leave a Reply

