Poached Eggs and Ham Sandwich

I love weekends for so many reasons. Top reason is that I much prefer being woken up by my pup, Louis, then by the shrill beeping of my alarm clock. The second is that I actually take the time to make breakfast.  My garden has been taking off, and I wanted an excuse to use some mixed greens so this post will be about my poached eggs and ham sandwich. So without delay, let’s get to the food!
Main shot

RECIPE: Poached Eggs and Ham Sandwich 
Makes 2 Sandwiches

SUPPLIES NEEDED:
High Sided Pan with lid IMG_0600
Pan (I like cast iron personally)
Cutting Board
Knife
Slotted Spoon
Fork

INGREDIENTS:
Bread (4 slices)
1 oz. Extra Sharp Cheddar Cheese
Mixed Greens
Ham (4 slices)
Eggs (4 large)
White vinegar
Salt
Cracked Black Pepper

DIRECTIONS: 
1) Poach the eggs by filling a high sided pan with water, a dash of white vinegar, and a pinch of salt. Bring to a simmer/light boil over medium heat before cracking in the eggs. Cover and let cook for approximately five minutes.
2) Brown the slices of ham in the cast iron pan.
3) In the mean time, drop the bread in the toaster.
4) Thinly slice the cheese
5) Layers –> cheese, ham, mixed greens, poached eggs, cracked black pepper
The order of the layers is important so that the cheese slightly melts

Final Shot

Enjoy!

One thought on “Poached Eggs and Ham Sandwich

Leave a Reply

